Ortur Master 2 - I am new to this and looking for assistance

Total n00b here. I have tried around 20 prints and tapping out and asking for some assistance. I thought it would be much easier than this. This seems way harder than my 3d printer. I know I must just be overlooking something simple.

I am printing on Birch wood. I printed a test template on the back which is somewhat weird. A portion did not engrave.

Here is the original picture

Here is the output

I set to 2100 Speed and 80 Power . Not sure if this is my problem and or if I need to adjust something else.

I am pretty tech savvy and good in Photoshop. I am wanting to make clocks for Christmas gifts. If anyone has time to review and help, I would be greatly and deeply appreciative. I will even payal you money for a beer if you can get me off my training wheels and get this going :slight_smile:

We all start somewhere so no worries, before long, you will be burning like a champ. It is simply an issue of understanding a few concepts and a bunch of trial and error. This will happen faster than you think. OK, enough of that…

2100 is not a speed, it is just a number so we need the duration as well. :wink: With a smile I ask, is this 2100 in/min, mm/s, MPH? The difference can have a big effect on the output, as you can imagine. The faster you go, the less time the beam sits at a single location depositing energy, thus reducing the amount of cutting or marking accomplished.

As for the photo, post the settings for that layer so we can take a look.

It also looks like the test pattern you did is burring at the right edge. This can happen if there is not enough overscan room for the laser to slow, turn around, and start moving back again. The beam is on and the turn-around deposits more energy at that point of the burn. Adding ‘Overscanning’ will turn the beam off, then continue traveling in the same direction a bit further before slowing to make the turn. Super crisp vs bleeding burns at the edges.