Othur LM2, Keep getting Alarm 2 messages

Hello I’m Charles and I’m new to LightBurn, What’s going on with my laser(Othur LM2) It’s connected and I’m able to move the laser through LightBurn but it won’t burn my design on anything I don’t know what’s going on, it’s just not working and I keep getting Alarm 2 messages, can someone help me please!!!

1 Like

I did a search here in the LightBurn forums for “Alarm 2” and lots of similar posts have been made. From a quick look it sounds like it’s an out of bounds alarm. So my guess is that your machine size definition in the Device definition is not set correctly or your design is not completely inside the work area.

Another option is that you have some unknown object outside the area. One way to find out is to select only the design inside the work area and then click the “Cut Selected Graphics” switch just below the Pause, Frame and Home buttons. Now when you hit run it will only try to do that item. If it works with no alarm 2 then you have a mystery object you’ll need to find using Select All and then deleting it.

1 Like

And you’ll learn a ton by doing your own search for “Alarm 2” and reading some of the troubleshooting and conversations. Knowing more than you need to know at this moment in time will make you a far happier laser operator.

Bad Number Format: Missing the expected G-code word value or numeric value format is not valid

Generally when grbl chokes on something it will output to the terminal the error. Along with this is a line number where the error occurred.

1 Like

How do i fix that problem

Did you set up Lightburn for that device? Where did you pick for home when you created the device profile? Where is the starting point for you drawing in Lightburn?

While troubleshooting the same issue, I found the following as a work around.
Laser Window:

1. Set to User Origin and select the lower left hand dot from the array.
  2. Right Click on “Devices Button” and wait 10 seconds