Photo Engraving Efforts

Also trying to see what I can do with photos.

On the two closeups above I had to tilt my phone at an angle when I took the pics so only the bottom middle of the photos are in good focus.

Still chasing some slight horizontal banding. Not from the compressor this time.

Chose this photo because it has a lot of tiny detail and some nice tonal graduation. Here’s the photo as well. Used Photoshop to remove the upper background. No adjustments in LB.

Posting the original photo for download below if anyone wants to use it. I see a lot of posts of people’s end results but not the original photo used.

1 Like

@travisr100 Did you process the image with an unsnap mask? It looks a little soft.

Did you do any file prep? What DPI? My background is in professional photography. Closed my studio in Los Angeles in 2013 and moved to the Pacific Northwest to start a new life when everyone with a cell phone and Instagram filters became a professional over night…

Cheers

Sas

I shot this with my iPhone. Brought it into Photoshop and removed the background from the top part of the photo (was just some clouds and a hangar). Discarded color information. Saved it as a JPG. That’s all I did in Photoshop. From there imported it into LB. Scaled it to fit on the media I was engraving. Used Stucki dither, .09/282 DPI, no changes to shape layer properties. No unsharp mask.

When initially starting convert the image as follows:
greyscale 8 bit
contrast enhancement,
adjust your tonal range

an unsharp mask to get rid of the fuzziness from digital photo in photoshop on your image the detail that it can not reproduce. Experiment with the % of sharpness as high as 500% and radius of up to 6. ( I am taking into consideration that you are versatile in Photoshop)