Photo Engraving Newbie

Hi! I’m pretty new to Lightburn and laser cutting/etching. This is my first attempt at photo engraving. Can anyone offer any suggestions? It looks better from a distance. Attaching both the laser engraved piece and original photo.

Karla, you can send your settings up here so we have a starting point. However, the picture is a nice first time result, better than the one I started with :wink:

Thank you! I was kind of surprised actually. But it definitely looks more clear (realistic) from a distance. So I imported the image after adjusting it to greyscale and playing with brightness and contrast. The image is at 100 speed/ 20 power

Can you create a screenshot with the LightBurn settings for the current layer?
What resolution did you use?
How big is your machine (Watt)?
And, not to bother you, but always specify the unit of measure by the numbers, otherwise others can not use your information and it will only be guesswork.
Do you have an ammeter? to read out your set power or “only” the% regulation?
Ask if you are in doubt about something people here would like to help

We have options that do not require the use of external image edit tools for this. Redirecting...

Yes, please. 100 MPH is very different from 100mm per sec. :slight_smile: We need to know the units you are using to truly understand what is or is not happening. Thanks

My machine is a Chinese laser. 100 watt.
Attaching a photo of my settings. Not sure what an AMA meter is but also including a pic of a power test I ran. As you can see there was no difference between the different power %’s

Uploading: .jpeg...

Uploading: .jpeg...

Looks like your image uploads failed. Please try again. You may need to wait until they complete uploading before hitting ‘Return’ key on the posting.

I do not agree with you, your power test shows quite fine variations.