Power configuration lightburn with neje 2s max with a40640 laser diode

hello
I’m a beginner on lightburn and I’ve read a lot of content on setting speed and power. But the question of parameter priority remains unclear to me.

• in grbl the speed $30 is apparently given in mm/s and in lightburn it is given in mm/min for diode lasers. Does lightburn do the equivalence in auto ? in test material ? in layer ?
  • Speed and power can be entered in different places: from the material library, from the layer, from the shape. Are there priorities that are respected?
    From my tests, if I put 20% power in the material library, and 50% power in the layer and 80% power in the shape, it seems to make a 20% line. But if I put 100% power on the layer and 5% power on the shape, it seems to make a 100% line.
    in filling, I do not obtain any shade of gray whatever the parameters; it’s black, burnt or nothing…
    maybe this is something I misunderstood but with a power of 3% and a speed of 60mm/min, the cardboard burns over its entire thickness of 3mm
    thank for your answers.

note: add the possibility of hiding (not engraving or cutting a shape) in the shape tab: I made a grid to test the materials, but I have it print the lines one by one because according to the results it is not useful not much to increase in power or speed. (the paper does not need me to test cutting at 100% power on 60mm/min)

$30 defines spindle speed and is represented in revolutions per minute. However, from a laser perspective the value here most simply means “value that represents 100% power”.

No matter the units used, LightBurn will convert and show you the appropriate value. Actual absolute requested speed does not change irrespective of the units, assuming that your controller firmware is working correctly.