Powered Z-Axis Retrofit - Motor / Idler pulley installation - How to remove old belt?

I guess I’m new to this conversation, but I am set to go a different route. I have the 50-watt omtech model (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08NB1K9ZB) and in order to add the motor, I will need to add the second idler pulley and use a longer belt. The issue I have is somehow I need to remove the existing belt and replace it with the longer belt that fits the new routing. I am looking for video or photo instructions (or drawings) on how to get the old z-axis belt out and replace it, keeping it intact. Any hints on those such instructions?

It would be better to create a new thread… that way others can find it…

I’m hoping that @JohnJohn can move it to it’s own thread…

I have a very similar machine, OMTech China Blue 50W (advertised). I haven’t had to replace the belt but have looked at it…

I’ve looked in there and it appears the vertical screw shafts sit in a hole in the bottom of the frame. The upper part also has a bushing in it and is held in place by two screws… these are the only screws

Looks like you have to undo both screws at the top of each lift screw, then lift it up out of the cabinet to pass the belt under it…

Left is where it sits in a hole and rotates on the cabinet… there is nothing on the underneath side… right is the top bracket that has two screws holding it in place…

:smile_cat:

1 Like

@adamk
At Jack’s urging i’ve moved your post to its own thread.

I did see a powered Z-Axis retrofit completed by another community member. I don’t recall if your question about the old belt and second idler pulley was answered there.

My educated guess is that one of the constraints can be removed which would allow the belt to be released. The original idler or tensioner would likely be first. How does the bed-lift screw assembly come apart?