Rough finish in in engraving

Hello all!
I am fairly new to engraving. I am trying to engrave some tags and I can not figure out how to get a smooth finish in the inside of the font or a image on plastic. I tried speeding it up, slowing it down, turning up the power, turning down the power, turning up the Lines per inch and turning down the lines per inch. No matter what I do, it does not come out smooth. And yes, my len and mirrors are clean. Any suggestions?

Is the material acrylic, like Trolase?

The melty edges look more like ABS, which you can engrave, but it’s definitely doing the job on Hard Mode and you need good ventilation.

Edit: what Trolase acrylic looks like:

Your power is way too high. Most laser engravible laminates have a very thin top layer, typically .003". The rotary laminate top layer is around .012"

In the photo you sent, it looks like the speed is good, but I would cut the power in half and just try to engrave one or two words to see what happens. ( No need to waste all that laminate ) You can slowly increase the power as needed.

I am using these,

My best result was running at 175 mm. Power, that was at 24 mm. Then I went back and started at 10 mm and up to 18 mm. At that I am barley getting all the red out on the first pass. I have to do a second pass and I still get the same result. Is it the material?

And I do have good ventilation.

I assume you mean % rather than mm for the powers. :grin:

The material looks good, with a very thin color layer on top. The settings are definitely too slow with too much power: I used 400 mm/s and 14% for the Trolase, which seems similar.

Run a Material Test on the sheets you’re using to identify the proper range for good result, which will be much better and faster than screwing around with incremental tweaks.