Sainsmart Genmitsu 3018 Prover suddenly stopped working

Hello,

I am new to using my laser and cnc. I have had them for a couple of years but rarely use them. I have the laser module for the Sainsmart Genmitsu 3018 prover cnc. It’s worked on several occasions with no issue so I tried to use it again last night. I homed it without issue and tested a single line burn. It worked just fine, homing switches turned red when hit and laser carved as predicted. After the program ran, I tried to run it again but this time the laser wouldn’t come on and the homing switches no longer turn red or activate when being pressed. I’ve tried everything from updating firmware to reverting back to the factory settings. Can anyone help me figure this out? I’m ready to just throw this thing away after hours of debugging.

Some of these controllers get enough voltage from the usb connection, but the main power needed for everything else may be off or not working…

Double check that it’s getting voltage… If you normally see the home switches light up, and that’s not happening, then I chase down the power loss…

:smile_cat:

Thanks for the quick response. I tried plugging it into a different socket, power strip and wall plug. No luck. The machine still moves X,Y, and Z but the laser doesn’t fire (even when pressing the fire laser button or sending the g code command) and the switches does respond. Is there anyway to check if the switches are sending alerts to the board?

You can manually activate the switches…

The head moved toward the switch at a specified rate, when it hits the switch it will back off then re-engage for a higher precision home…

So each switch has to be pressed twice…

One the machine has homed… you should be able to connect and communicate with the board…

Once it’s home is complete (manually or not) the switches are viewed as limit switches, so if you press them again, the board should give you an error…

Can you drive and do you have a voltmeter?

Good luck