SAVE GCode -> Running output from offline controller

Newbie here running a SainSmart 3018 Pro with SainSmart 5500 mW diode laser. grbl 1.1f.
I am just wondering if there any known issues with saving a design containing an image using Lightburn’s Save GCode, transferring it to a USB drive and running from the offline controller? Does anyone have experience doing this? Does the output GCode need to be edited or re-formatted in any way?

I haven’t tried yet but interested in knowing what issues may arise. The controller was bundled with the CNC machine and works fine with the test files that were originally loaded onto it. I would like to be able to use my laptop without it being tied to the machine during a longer laser job.

I can be corrected if wrong but:
The G-code is in no way different than what Lightburn Streams live
So should be able to do what you need
Of course yuo will lose the ability to jog the machine prior. job start gets then hard coded in the Gcode.

That machine doesn’t like comments in the files, and requires carriage return/line feed line endings (Windows style) instead of just carriage return (Mac / Unix style). I’m thinking of adding an export type specifically for that.

Ok I have tried a quick test file and it worked. Here’s what I did:

1. In Lightburn, I created a small test file containing an image and some text (fill).

2. I used the Save GCode function to create file TEST.NC

3. I am running Windows 10, so I used NotePad++ (free download) to open TEST.NC

4. In NotePad++, you need to convert LF (end-of-line or line feed characters) to CRLF (carriage return/line feed) and remove all comment lines (lines starting with ; semi-colon). Here’s how:

• within Notepad ++ to see the end of line markers, Click on View > Show Symbol > then Show End of Line.
  • After that, you will be able to see the end of line characters and see which ones are used (you should see a highlighted LF at the end of each line)