Setting up Cheap Chinese Laser

Hi,

I’m very new to laser cutting/engraving and lightburn so bear with me if these questions have been asked/answered.

I bought one of those cheap laser cutters second hand from someone who had not got around to even putting it together. He had paid for an upgraded 15W laser.

Needless to say, the “program” that came with it was useless for a number of reasons, the main one being that I don’t speak Chinese and the language in the program kept resetting itself. This lead me to find an alternative and lightburn has so far saved the day. That’s the back story.

The cutter is running from an Arduino cnc shield rev3.0. As far as I can tell it is a Arduino uno and cnc shield in one (happy to be corrected on this). So far, I’ve got lightburn to recognise the cutter and I can run the laser through a cut or engrave program. The laser does everything it’s supposed to with one fairly significant problem. The laser doesn’t turn on or off, and I can’t adjust power settings. The Arduino has a port labelled pwm and so does the chip on the laser itself however it doesn’t seem to do anything. When plugged in the laser is off, I can unplug it and get it turned on but again it doesn’t turn on and off during a program and obviously this leaves marks and whatnot where there shouldn’t be.

I’d appreciate any help I can get. I’m very much a novice (today is my second day playing with it and I’ve never used an Arduino or anything before so if you would be kind and walk me through it very slowly I’d appreciate it.) I’m hoping it’s some setting or silly thing I’ve missed but who knows.

Thanks in advance