Shapes not closed error

Newbie here trying to recreate a logo. I had problems doing a trace on the logo that I was given so I had to recreate some of it. I’ve attached the file. On the globe part of the logo I did an offset on the individual pieces and I would like to fill in the offsets to create a thicker line. The curves that comprise the globe intersect with other pieces of the design and I can’t figure out how to close the curves and fill them. Is there a special way to create an offset and fill it?
Thank you
moody.lbrn (451.5 KB)

This is likely going to be a multi-step process but read through this post to get a better understanding of how line segments are joined.

Looking at the design again, would it not be easier to simply create a new circle to replace the globe instead of trying to do this with the existing disjointed circle?

I think the way you constructed it may be a problem.

‘Edit → Select open shapes’ will show what isn’t closed.

I looked at the nodes and they are not connected in a few places…

Here I zoomed in and you can see it’s not connected… The problem that’s open is the ‘circle’ construction. Did that ‘trace’ normally or did you do something else with it…?

I drug it away so you can see the segment.

How did you make the outline?

If you ‘zoom’ into the area, right of the M, the trace looks like this…

Probably not what you want, but depending on the finished product might not be visible, but it’s going to be there…

Good luck…

:smile_cat:

Thanks for your help guys. I did go back and close all of the paths and auto-join the different parts of the curve. But I am still unable to fill the curves.

My trace would not pick up the globe so I made my own circle and paced it over the rest of the artwork that did trace. I then deleted the parts of the circle where it overlapped the swooshes and words. What a project to pick for one of my first tries!

This is what the file now looks like. Still no filling of the offsets.