Single pass creates partial image

I’m new to the laser engraving world and so far enjoying myself. I’m running an Ender 3v2 with marlin 2.2.1 and a 5W output Comgrow laser.
Most works like a charm, but I do get the following strange thing happening: when I engrave at single pas my image is never complete (ie. circles aren’t finished). But when i engrave at 2 passes everything is fine . The downside is that the lines are much darker from 2 passes. Am I making some mistake that is causing this to happen?

Here is an example of some butterflies, right is 1pass, left column 2 passes.

Which speed and power settings are in the Cuts / Layers window?

Are you working in mm/minute?

A screen capture of the Cuts / Layers window would answer both questions. :slight_smile:

power is always 100% (the downside of using this laser attached to a 3d printer)
i’m working in mm/sec, in which the range is from 5mm/sec tot 200mm/sec , the speed seems to give no different results in which parts are ‘missing’

1 Like

50mm/s is 3000mm/minute. That’s pretty fast for a laser diode.

I feel that you’re solidly into the cornering or RAMPS algorithm within Marlin and that’s why the intensity is being reduced. I had this symptom last year when I was starting.

If you have the Config file for the Ender 3v2 we can confirm what the maximum print or engrave speed is.

I recommend performing a Material Test on one of the unsatisfactory pieces, 6 by 6 grid between 500mm/minute and 1000mm/minute and 20% power to 70% power. Set the Material setting for ‘Line’. When you are in the ideal operating range the test-boxes will generate a clean engrave line in and out of the corner. When operating above the cornering speed limit, laser power is reduced excessively and the missing line behaviour appears.