Skewed engraving in FILL mode

Dear Lighburn users,

I am new to laser machines so please excuse any obvious or silly comments. I have recently bought the NEJE Max 4 with E80 diode module. I am using LightBurn 1.4.03 on a MacBook Pro with Apple M1, 16 GB RAM, MacOSX Ventura 13.6.2.

The following issue is driving me crazy. The engraving in FILL mode comes out very much skewed to the left on the X-axis. Here is a photo of a test I produced to accompany this post:

Notice the following:

(1) The engraving or cutting in LINE mode comes out clean and precise regadless of speed or other settings.

(2) The engraving of a single object in FILL mode, like a single letter also comes out clean and precise (see the letter ‘n’ at the far right). The skewed problem seems to occur when there is a series of letters or objects. I can confirm that the problem also exist when engraving an image.

(3) This test leads me to suspect that this might be a software issue and not a hardware issue, but I am no expert and would take on any advice that you may have.

Having scanned the historical archive of the Lighburn forum, I noticed that this is an issue that was faced by other users in different forms. I followed the advice on all these past discussions and have tried the following remedies but with no avail:

• I have tried different engraving speeds (as shown in this test).
  • I have tried setting the step pin invert to 0 and/or 1 for the Y and X axis (as shown in this test).
  • I have checked that the axis steps are as per the manufacturer and that the X steps are the same as the Y steps.
  • I have checked the belts in all axes and they are tight. I only got this machine 3 weeks ago.
  • I have uninstalled and installed back again Lightburn.
  • I have removed and reinstalled back again the Device.
  • I do not have a CO2 laser so the PWM Rising Edge fix does not apply to my device.