Skip hidden SVG layers

Hello! Sorry if this is an odd question but I am new to Lightburn (just purchased today!) and I am adapting my laser cutting work flow.

I normally work in Inkscape to generate SVG files (I previously heavily used K40 Whisperer) and part of my work flow heavily relies on “baking” many SVGs into slightly different versions with many hidden layers.

When I import SVGs from Inkscape into Lightburn it seems that all of the hidden layers are now fully visible. I noticed the following setting to seemingly respect Illustrator file “hidden” flag for layers so I was hoping there was the same thing for SVGs.

It looks like Inkscape is using the style flag “display:none” so I was hoping that LightBurn could somehow respect that.

Sorry again if this is covered elsewhere in the documentation!

What is the purpose of hiding the layers? Would disabling the “Show” field for the cut layer serve the same purpose? This is something you’d have to do manually yourself, however.

Note, however, that conversion of “layers” in Inkscape to LightBurn will only correlate to colors. LightBurn doesn’t care so much about Inkscape native layer hierarchy.

I’m not aware of any way to disable import of hidden layers. May be easier to save a special SVG without the hidden layers or to simply delete them after import.

Note that you can also copy and paste objects directly from Inkscape to LightBurn.

I suspect this is where any workflow gains will be made depending on what drove this approach.

What is the purpose of hiding the layers?