SKR v1.3 and K40 digital pannel

I am new to laser but not electronics and wanting to convert to a skr 1.3 controller board for my K40 and found a way to do it but that was for the anologue panel, mine is the digital version, no pot and I use the digital pannels up and down buttons to change it, I am thinking this pannel is a bad idea and I need to convert it but not yet sure, my question is… on the old style psu (jst conectors,not the green screw down plugs) is the pin marked K+ the same functions as the L plug, on the SKR 1.3/1.4 diagramme it shows that pin K+ is used for the pannel and the L pin is not used, can I switch to the L and still be able to use the pwn function. and since I have the digital pannel which has the fire pin then I guess I dont need to wire the fire pin from the SKR board? also doing it this way, will the laser power settings in Lightburn still work?

The standard lps uses the pwm into IN of the lps and the laser enable is L which is active low.

I’d be surprised if you need a voltage translator, but again, I don’t know the board.

I don’t know what else I can tell you.

On my Ruida, the pwm runs anytime a layer is executing and it only is enabled to lase when the L input goes low…

Here’s a link with more information on both types of supplies… I don’t necessarily agree with some of it, but it seems functional… these people are pretty knowledgeable.

Sing out if you have questions…

Good luck

:smile_cat:

Thanks, that pretty much told me all I need to know, I got hold of a smoothieware config that was supposed to work with the SKR board and the motors never homed at start up but does now :slight_smile: all thats left is the lasser part to do and I decided I will be ripping out the Digital control pannel and doing it the way alot of others are, just seems to make sense with customizasions and that

How are you going to wire it? Like the your original schematic?