Suggestions for improving laser engraving?

Hi all. I’m pretty new to laser engraving but I did some research into it before I got my Thunder laser. I know that sometimes it’s just trial and error but I have a 5x7 photo that I’m trying to engrave and I can’t seem to get right. My biggest issue at the moment is that when I don’t get great results, I’m unsure which direction to go to improve the results. Material isn’t cheap so I’d like to test without wasting too much of it.

So far I’ve found that grayscale tends to output details better but is usually very dark and burns too much wood away; dither, stucki, jarvis, etc. come out lighter but with less detail.

I’ve read that most people use Baltic Birch wood for engraving and some say that other types of wood like Maple, Alder, basswood, etc. are better. I don’t have enough experience with them all to know if it’s the wood or if it’s the photo or the Lightburn settings that I need to adjust. Any suggestions are appreciated. I can provide more info if needed.

When you select grayscale on the layer, Lightburn has a note that it’s for 3d type of engraving for co2 users. It’s also probably one of the most tough to master and the data generated is enormous…

I like stucki for a dither, but there are also others to pick from.

This guy does good videos, SarbarMultimedia and explains the heart of what’s happening. I’d suggest his series, but you can start with this one…

Good luck – post some of your work

:smile_cat:

Thanks for the links! I’m watching a few of his videos and will see if I can achieve similar results.

1 Like

If you run a test with your best guess at settings and you’re looking or hoping for a slightly different outcome; please post the pic of the finished attempt and some of the assumptions you’re rolling with.

Someone may have already chased after it and if we can get enough words around it, we might get a solution for you and for a few other folks that are heading in the same direction.