Too many passes needed for cutting HELP NEEDED

I got a NEJE Master 2s Plus recently and from one cut to the other the laser started needing A LOT more passes to cut through. I refocused the laser, but still it needs about 30 passes at 4mm/s and 100% power to cut 3mm MDF.
Can someone help please??

If it was a sudden decline and you’ve been cutting MDF then you’ve likely dirtied your lens. Do you have an air assist with a nozzle protecting the lens? If not, this is very likely.

Take a close look at the lens looking for debris or any residue that’s been deposited on it. Clean with IPA and a cotton swab. Don’t use the swab more than once. Avoid letting the IPA dry on its own and dry with a clean swab.

I did clean the lens and still too many passes. I think I broke the focusing dial on the module. I don’t have air assist. :frowning:
Thank you for the swift reply!!

In that case double check focus to make sure it’s still tack sharp. If not, this can have a dramatic effect on cutting ability.

If the dial is in fact broken then try increasing or decreasing the distance of the module to the material until sharpness is achieved. This is easier if you have some sort of height control.

This should at least be able to help you determine if the issue is isolated to the focus dial or something else. Then you can make an informed decision about next steps from there.

I did lower the module and it sharpened the laser. I reduced the number of passes in half, but still it’s about 10-15 passes to get a clean cut. I’m still using 4mm/s and 100% power. The lines are super thin and I have no burn marks around the cut, which is a plus since I don’t have air assist.
Thank you again for your help!!

What were you getting before?

It’s also possible or likely that the laser module has degraded. If you’ve been consistently running at 100% power this could shorten the life of the laser. How many hours would you estimate has the laser been fired?