Tooling for coding adjustable SVG widgets

I’m a web developer and I use Javascript to generate SVG paths that can be cut out and assembled into 3D objects. In particular, I create polyhedral lampshades and circular lightboxes using these techniques. I’m building an app to faciliate this. You can see a demo of the app here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_J6QBTSfmpU.

I’m considering extracting all of the code that is not specific to my particular designs into a general-purpose plugin library that would enable others to develop and use adjustable SVG widgets for both industrial and graphic design. I’m only trained as a developer, not as an engineer so I don’t know if my peculiar process for designing objects would be useful to the broader industrial design community. I vaguely familiar with parametric design in CAD software but I’ve never seen a way to take a CAD design and deploy it as a tweakable web application. I don’t want to reinvent the wheel so to speak, so I would really appreciate it if you could tell me if this venture would be a duplication of effort. I would intend to release this library as open source but I’m open to hearing if there are proprietary solutions that overlap with this.

Thanks for your considerations :slight_smile:

1 Like

wow, this is brilliant work!!

absolutely amazing .

thanks for sharing

1 Like

Nice work and looks very responsive. I am aware of other various web-based shape design tools such as Boxes and templatemaker, but this is the first I have seen focused on the lamp shapes and having this degree of functionality. Looking forward to your developments. Please keep us in the loop. :slight_smile:

2 Likes