Trying to frame OMTech K40 laser, hits hard limit -Y and -X

Hello! I am new to laser cutting so when I bought my own OMTech K40 and a Lightburn compatible memory board, I was really excited to get going. so I started off by homing my machine and everything went well until I tried to frame my project, and here is what it said: Alarm: Hard limit -X. I tried again: Alarm: Hard limit -Y. So decided something must be wrong with framing so I just tried to cut a small 10mm by 10mm square. And as you guessed it said this: Alarm: Hard limit -X. I have searched and searched but I have not found an answer to my problem. If anyone knows the answer to this it would help a lot, thanks.

You did a controller update and the results are that it’s generating the error message…

Does it actually move or immediately give the error?

Usually the hard limit means the limit switch has been activated…

Can you check if that’s the case?

On some machines, the limit and home switches need not be the same… Don’t know about the Smoothie…

I think @berainlb knows these boards… maybe he can come bail us out.

:smile_cat:

What specific board did you get for the swap?

Did the machine work prior to the swap? How did the swap go? anything of note there?

Can you provide the following:

1. full screenshot of LightBurn with your design loaded and ready to run
  2. screenshot of Edit->Device Settings
  3. upload your config.txt file here

I am having a similar problem. Any help is appreciated.

ALARM: Hard limit -X

On or near line 6006:

// NOTICE limits are disabled until all have been cleared

On or near line 6006:

Stream completed in 1:33

Starting stream

Layer

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

!!

Did anyone find a fix? I have the same issue

I got this: Desktop 40W Laser Engraver LightBurn Compatible Motherboard - OMTech – OMTech Laser. I immediately swapped the board without using the previous.