Unable to connect unless opened as root

Hi,

I’m new to Lightburn, I just recently learned about it and now I’m testing it out on my laser. When I learned that Lightburn was powerful, affordable and natively supported Marlin, I was sold! My machine is a custom built, i3 clone, 3D printer, running Marlin on a GT2560 mainboard. My host machine is running Linux Mint 19.2.

The problem I’m having is that I can’t get Lightburn to connect to the printer unless I run it as root. I’ve confirmed that my user is in the correct groups (tty, dialout) and that my user can connect to the printer with other software like Pronterface, but unless I run Lightburn as root, the debug log show that the port could not be opened, suggesting a permissions issue.

Running as root everything seems to run fine and I was able to do a test engraving in very short order, I’m loving the software so far and looking forward to using it some more!

I came across a fairly important bug while I was testing, but I’m not sure of the exact place to report it, should I post bug details here, or is there a better place?

Thanks!

I’ve confirmed that my user is in the correct groups (tty, dialout)

Have you verified that the /dev tty/USB file has the right permissions/ownership as well?

I haven’t checked manually, but I assume everything is correct in that regard since it works with Pronterface on the same port.

It’s possible you need to add a new udev rule for that device. Here’s a good place to start: Unable to connect using Ubuntu 18.04
Can’t give you specifics as it’s different for every device.
That is odd thought that it works in other applications… Are you sure that no other process is connecting to that port.
And you can just post any bug details here.

Yep, I’m certain that Pronterface is correctly closing the port when I’ve been through testing it, I’ve even gone so far as to completely logout and start from a clean session, just in case, but no joy unless it’s root.