Unable to cut 4mm Plywood

Hi all

I have been using the TwoTrees TTS-55 for a few months now and I have been engraving and cutting 3mm pine plywood with no issues.
Yesterday I got my hands on 4mm pine ply and I cannot for the life of me get it to cut through.

I may be way off the mark here, so if anyone can help me out it would be greatly appreciated.

This is what I have tried so far.

Top of Focus Block:
(S)Speed: 100
(P)Power: 100
(C)Pass Count: 1

(S): 100
(P): 100
(C): 2

(S): 200
(C): 2

(S): 200
(C): 3

(S): 300
(C): 3

(C): 4

Third step of Focus Block:
(C): 5

(C): 6

(S): 400
(C): 5

(S): 500

(S): 500
(C): 7

(C): 8

(S): 90
(C): 1

If you wish to cut thicker material than before you need more power…

Either by increasing the percentage power of slowing down the head. You’ve seemed to increase speed … Don’t know what happens if you set the speed to zero… didn’t think you could do that…

It’s always wise to mention the units you are using… mm/m is common with dpssl lasers, but so is inches/m or mm/s.

I set all of my machines to mm/s, I’m used to seeing it scan in that unit. Doesn’t matter which, but it’s good for people to know when trying to answer.

:smile_cat:

1 Like

Hi

Thanks for the response.
I am using mm/m.

The lowest speed I went was 90mm/m (just noticed the typo) but all that ended up doing was burning the top of the plywood and it still did not cut through unfortunately.

I read somewhere that upping the speed and increasing the amounts of passes would eliminate the burning but while the burning did not occur, the laser still did not cut through.

I really am stumped here.

As with any machining operation it will do the job with various settings, but only a limited range will give you the best cut…

If you cut the speed in half, you theoretically double the lasers power. It’s puts twice as much heat into the area since it’s moving half the speed.

I’d suggest your 3mm mdf setting and drop the speed by half as a start.