What material for "blueprint"

Does anyone have suggestions for a material that would work well to laser on a “blueprint” - blue surface and white background? Ideally, the material would be two layers and adjust the laser speed and power to cut through the top layer and expose the bottom layer of a different color, like blue on top of white, to laser out a blueprint with minimal post-work, such as doing the cut on blue and then gluing that to a white sheet underneath?

Anything thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Trotec, for one, sells these dual color materials. Have a look at their assortment. Tap plastics might as well.

1 Like

Thank you very much! I was able to quickly find a suitable material at Trotec. Tap plastics might have something as well, but it’s a little harder to find specific things on their site, but that looks like a great resource for other things, also.

I’m just getting started with laser cutting and engraving and getting up to speed on materials and sources for them is part of the learning curve. So thanks again for the tips!

The Trotec stuff is pretty pricey, but it’s clear that it does what you require.

For the economical option, one could use ordinary blue acrylic sheet, cover it well with securely attached masking, then engrave the desired white portions. A quick splash of white paint, perhaps even spray paint fills the engraving.

With the masking removed, you have a result similar to Trotec.

1 Like

Another great place to look is Johnson Plastics Plus

2 Likes

Masking, engraving, then paint would work, too, that’s a good idea. I’ll have to think about that. Some of the things I have in mind are pretty intricate, so removing the masking after might get very tedious. But maybe leave off the masking, engrave, then use white paint and squeegee it across the engraving to fill the cut might be a little more work than Trotec, but less work than removing 100’s of small pieces of tape. Not sure.