What numbers to start with for speed and power

Hi, I’m new to the whole laser thing. I’ve already learned a lot from this forum! I’ve been messing around a little with trying to burn images/pictures and am having a hard time finding the right combination of power and speed. I’m currently burning onto white oak. Is there a better wood? Something softer? I know there are a lot of variables, but does anyone have any suggestions on rough numbers, please? So I can maybe have a starting point and fine tune it from there.

Thanks!

Joe

You need to provide much more information on what laser you have, and what you are trying to achieve. If we don’t know what you have, then we can not provide much help tailored to you.

As for the woods, hardwoods (white oak) take more power to burn then soft woods (Balsa, Basswood).

Thanks for the reply Tyler. Sorry for my ignorance. I’m brand new to this laser stuff. I have a Universal Engraver, 15w laser. I’m trying to burn my logo which is a black and white png file. I’m also wanting to burn photos. I have some scrap knotty alder that I’m going to practice on tonight. Hopefully it will work a little better than the white oak. Please let me know if you need any further info.

I have an Ortur Laser Master2 with a 15 watt module, so it should be fairly comparable to your settings.

Here is a piece I did on Red Alder. The lettering was 2600mm/min 60% power .1mm line interval one pass. Resulting in just over .5mm relief.

The picture of the leaf was 3000mm/min 45% power with .125mm line interval. I’m not very pleased with the image of the leaf, I would do more playing with the settings for this if I was going to make this for someone else, but it was more of a test for myself.