When Engraving with Galvo, size difference smaller than the design

Hi There, hope some one can assist, I’m new to engraving and to lightburn, I have a 60W JPT Mopa. When I create the design say 89mm X 10mm it engraves as 55mm X 7mm, I have been through the setup importing the file from ezicad as suggested on line. the settings were imported for the glavo lense size focal disance of 175mm settings, as sent with the machine however the lense they sent says it is a 160mm lense, would this have an impact on the size that is engraved.

Very nice machine, I have probably the same one… Mines from Cloud Ray…

Every lens is different and each requires calibrating. If the file supplied by your vendor is for that lens, it should be ok.

If they are not you will see the vertical or horizontal lines bulge or curve inwards… Do a large comfortable sized square or rectangle and see if the lines are straight and not in any way curved.

Usually this is configuration or calibration…

Do you only have a single lens?

:smile_cat:

I would re-check your numbers, and actually what the numbers you are going by mean.
160 is most likely a Focal length=160 110mm x 110mm work area, but 175 is most likely a F=254 175mm x 175mm work area lens. Those are both pretty common sizes. The 2 different numbers, focal length and work area get confused all the time.
I have an identical setup with 110, 175, and 300 (Work area) lenses
Here are some samples of one particular brand.

You have a great machine there they say Cloudray is the best. I have the XT laser.
I have three lenses with the machine, a 160, 420 and 254.
I have completed a large square no bulging or convex/concave sides seems fine, only the size seems to come out differently. Also ended up setting the head alignment was slightly out of parallel.

1 Like

Hi Al .