When uploading a photo, the preview is almost completely black. It engraves with no detail

Hi. I am new to LightBurn and engraving. I have had much success engraving designs on slate but I cannot get a grasp of engraving pictures. I have an OMTech 55 watt. I do not know my “controller” or “firmware”. I am still on my 30 trial of Lightburn.
This first picture is the original photo.

this second is what shows in preview.

I have spent many hours adjusting the image (contrast, brightness, etc). I am not able to get a decent photo to engrave, no details in the engraving

Have you actually engraved the images to see how it turns out or are you basing this strictly on the preview? If you actually engraved these can you send a photo of the result?

One thing I’m noticing in the screenshot is that you have minimum power set to 50%. That would heavily impede the lower end of engraving power which is possibly why it’s coming out so dark.

If that doesn’t work upload your .lbrn file here and someone can take a closer look.

1 Like

If you zoom in when in ‘Preview’, you will see the details of what will be sent to the laser. :slight_smile:

As @berainlb suggests, for settings adjustment, show us what result you are producing, and we can offer some further feedback.

I have tried engraving and it is basically a giant white blob. I have watched the 45 minute LightBurn picture video and still no luck.
Here is the original picture

Without doing anything to your image beyond copying and pasting this into LightBurn, hit ‘Preview’, then I zoom to see the following. The detail is there.

Here, I use the ‘Adjust Image’ tool, to enhance the image for laser output and show again, a zoomed view.

Show us what this looks like when you try to produce this on your material. What material are you wanting to engrave? :slight_smile:

I am using slate.
I will run it tonight and post it.
Thank you