Which camera and lens would you recommend?

I am new to Laser Engraving. I just purchased an Ortur engraver. I would like to order a camera, but need your help. Here is my situation. I would like to also purchase Ortur’s Enclosure. The only problem is that it is only 12.3" tall. The platform is 400mm square, but I will probably just be engraving small images, so I may only use 1/3rd of that space. I noticed on this page > Using a Camera - LightBurn Software Documentation
Lightburn shows a table of Camera selections.

which hopefully I uploaded correctly. It appears that the only choice is the 5mp-160 which only needs 8.75".
Any thoughts? is there a problem with such a wide angle lens?
Thank you for your suggestions,
Andy

This dialog is built into LightBurn and can be found under the ‘Help’ menu. The image you post is just an example (and from an old version). :wink:

Enter your information where it says ‘Machine Size’ to see the choices recommended for that setup.

I also suggest you search this forum (image upper-right at the top of each page) for “Ortur Camera Setup” to find many additional posts covering this topic in detail. :slight_smile:

Hi Rick,

Thanks for the info, but at this point in my getting into laser engraving, I just want to make sure that a 12” high enclosure is not too short to work with your cameras.

I just received the engraver today and I want to be very cautious by getting an enclosure before operating the laser.

Once I have the engraver set up. I will purchase your software and will use the software, as you have indicated, to inform me which camera to purchase.

Si the question comes down to whether or not the 12” tall enclosure will work with your cameras. It did appear from the sample chart that it would work with 160 degree lens. I just thought it would be best to double check before buying the Ortur enclosure.

Thank you,
Andy

I plugged 400mm x 400mm into the camera choice helper, which presents the following: