Why does LightBurn keep stretching my cuts?

I’m new to LightBurn. I haven’t managed to get it to do a successful burn yet.

Today, I set my project up with the EXACT measurements of my board (and imported .bmp file). It burned (terribly I might add) right off the top of the project. So, I sanded the entire board down and re-fired it with LASERgrbl. I used the exact same settings, same .bmp file, and movement speed of 1400 and this is the difference.

I think there are probably some advantages to LightBurn, but right now I’m extremely frustrated. What’s going on here? How do I fix it??!

First question - Are you using the same units in both programs? LightBurn defaults to mm/sec, whereas most diode software is mm/minute, so “1400” would be interpreted as a whole lot faster than your machine could go, which would make the burn much lighter.

You would change that in “Units / Grids”, in the main settings:

Second question - did you frame the job before you ran it, or use the preview to verify that it otherwise looked correct? It looks vertically stretched compared to the LaserGRBL version, so it’s possible that you had the “Rotary Enable” button set (which will scale the Y axis, depending on settings) or perhaps there is something about the image or other settings that LightBurn doesn’t like.

Start with these, and we’ll go from there.

These are the default settings.

I did note that the Rotatry Enable button was on so I turned that off. I am not sure how to frame something. When I select the artwork and hit the FRAME button it doesn’t appear to do anything.

Having the Rotary Enable flag set is quite likely what messed up the vertical scaling on the job.

You don’t need to select the art to frame it, you just click the Frame button and it will move the machine around the bounds of the job, so you can see on the work piece where it’s going to go. I assume LightBurn is connected to the machine when you hit the Frame button?