Working with an image and shape together

I want to put an image on top of a solid fill shape. The shape is larger than the image. The image should end up being a negative (white on black). But I can’t see to get it to show up. The image just hides behind the graphic. The image layer is already at the top and I have pushed the image to the top as well. This is my first time working with an image so I am probably missing something pretty basic here. I want to preserve the subtle shadings in the image so I don’t want to trace it.

Is this what you’re trying to accomplish by placing the solid fill shape behind? If so, this is accomplished by enabling “Negative image” option in the cut setting for the image.

If I understand you correctly, what you’re doing will end up stacking an image operation on top of a fill operation basically independently.

Yes that is exactly what I am trying to do. I have negative image selected. I think I have found the issue. In terms of layers, top is bottom and bottom is top (compared to other programs).

From your description I think no matter what you’ll end up burning an entire filled rectangle and an entire image on top of that, or in reverse. I suspect that’s not what you want.

If you already have negative image enabled what more are you trying to get out of it? I feel like I’m missing something.

I want the white bits not to burn.
Grey bits only to burn a bit.
Black bits to burn a lot.

So Lightburn will go over this area in 2 separate passes? Ones as it burns the shape, and once as it burns the image? If so, then you are correct, that is not what I am trying to achieve. I guess I could create the entire area in another program and import it.

Yes, based on what I understand of your drawing.

Then you wouldn’t want “Negative image”. What you’re describing is default behavior.