Xyltotex Driver using Mach 3

I am a complete newbie to lasers, but a novice with CNC Routers. I acquired a home-built CNC using a Xylotex driver and Mach 3 as my GUI. Simple Gcode. I was curious if LightBurn can produce gcode for Mach 3 or what is needed to have this compatible.

http://www.xylotex.com/PDFS.htm

There is a gcode version of Lightburn which I suspect has a post processor that will work on Mach3. However is your question is can I use LIghtburn to design parts for my cnc machine? And then post them to Mach3?

Essentially yes, that is my question whether or not it posts out to Mach 3. My setup is a CNC Router rather than a stand-alone laser engraver so to say. I would like to have a plug-and-play option to do both with my setup, driver, and motors.

I don’t know how compatible Mach3 is to its LinuxCNC roots but LightBurn does have LinuxCNC as a supported device type. There’s an off chance that LightBurn could communicate to Mach3 directly.

If not, it’s possible that you could have LightBurn generate g-code to the closest compatible device type and then manually make the necessary edits to make this compatible with Mach3. Then either try running the modified g-code from LightBurn or other gcode sender or from Mach3 itself if that works.

Aside from the ability to talk to Mach3…Lightburn isn’t designed to control cnc routers. It has no way to set (or more specifically vary) the cutter depth, at least that I know of. I’m sure someone will point out otherwise, if that’s not the case.

I am curious why your trying to go in this direction.

I don’t think @CSec12 is asking about using LightBurn for CNC routing operations. He wants to use a Laser on his CNC device.