Z homing (SKR 1.3 / Smoothieware)

For the fun of it, I built a cartesian frame from scratch (I had enough spare parts) and got a Neje laser unit to play with. Based on discussions I found here, I’m wiring it all up using an SKR 1.3 running (the cnc version) of Smoothieware. The frame mechanics are complete and now I’m beginning the wiring process and hence, some questions.

For background, I have some experience (10 years) with larger CNC machines running dedicated controllers. I am however, completely new to this Grbl/Marlin/Smoothieware camp.

First, it appears Lightburn is not aware of its current coordinates? I don’t see any DRO but instead a button to query the machine’s current coordinates? Maybe this is a function of the (Smoothieware) controller not reporting it? DRO (both work and machine’s coordinates) are usually the most prominently displayed values in a “normal” CNC UI.

Also, when you run a program, Lightburn returns to the defined “home” position which is by default 0,0 leaving the controller in an alarm state (as it hits the limit switches). Yes, this can be fixed by setting the “home” to something >0 but it is odd that the software doesn’t check the machine’s limits when all limit switches are enabled and wired (and the machine homed). Also odd (about Smoothieware) that once you hit an axis limit, it locks everything down and doesn’t allow moving away from it, forcing to home all axis as the only resort. Am I missing some setting?