Best CO2 laser to buy to enable all of Lightburn's features

I’m in the market (post-COVID-19) for a CO2 laser to cut and engrave wood and use all the features available in Lightburn.

I’ve been using an ORTUR 15-watt diode laser for the past 4 months and I’m ready to upgrade.

My budget is flexible but ideally, I have 2 to 3K

My wish list is to have a Ruida RDC6445 controller, powered lift table, and camera. I’m guessing I will need to fit these myself. Materials I’d be cutting and engraving would be no larger than 50 x 50 cm and a maximum of 10mm thick.

The only limitation is to pass through an 85cm wide doorway.

I have already purchased a Ruiwan D1101 extraction unit for the ORTUR so would be useful if this could be connected to the outlet of a new CO2 laser.

Any info would be much appreciated.

:+1:
…the 60 Watt ?

2 Likes

Could anyone help? Would a RECI W6 130W laser tube be a good choice for engraving on wood and acrylic and cutting wood and acrylic?

130 Watt is a powerful weapon, I think you would like the large work surface and therefore look for such a powerful laser. Usually it is a semi-professional machine with a certain production volume. 130 Watt - it’s just before it burns through steel :wink: and 20mm acrylic, playwood and this kind of thing is absolutely no problem, but super fine and sharp images or other filigree little things I would not expect from this laser, it is too much energy, already at the very bottom of the scale.

Hi Bernd.dk

Thank you for confirming my suspicions regarding fine engraving from this 130watt laser.

I would like to cut wood and acrylic at a thickness of 10 to 15mm but also need to have quality engraving on small objects such as wood keyrings.

Do you know if a possible solution would be to change/swap over the laser head from a cutting to a engraving head? I recall seeing a Youtube video.

Also, maybe having a dual head laser with a lower power laser of say 40 watts? Could this be a good way forward?