Burning or smoke on the underside of cuts?

Hello everyone. Im new to CNC lasers. Im coming from 3D printing.

I just got done building my new cnc laser and did some quick cuts early yesterday morning. After figuring out how to use Lightburn, i was able to cut-through some letters of of cardboard.

It cut through nicely but I noticed some burning or smoke on the opposite side? I think its burning.

Now im using a grill, made by Weber, to hold up the material. The grill is made with steel round bar @ 4 38mm in diameter and are spaced from each other by 18.78mm.

Do you think maybe its reflected light off the steel round bar?

I havent designed an enclosure yet so that i can exhaust the smoke and there was a lot of smoke underneath the cuts.

EDIT: The pics of the letters are upside down, but you can see what im talking about.

You need some kind of ventilation that will move the debris away from the cut.

You should have some kind of ventilation for any kind of cutting/engraving. If you can smell it you’re breathing it.

Yes you can get reflections, but these seem wide, however, I don’t know how it was sitting on the support.

I sit mine 5mm off the metal table and air flow over and under the material.

I use 2x5x20mm magnets, one pair, so I have a 4mm base.

I’ve found that some patience is required to get the proper speed/power to minimize these issues.

Good luck

:smile_cat:

So you have a steel sheet underneath and use magnets as standoffs?

In designing an eclosure now. Need to vent this machine.

Yes…

Machine had a honeycomb bed, pitched it and replaced with a rolled sheet steel plate.

Middle top is the small magnets that I use for a standoff, with one of the larger magnets for alignment of whatever…

The holes drilled are used for templates

Good luck

Interesting.