Cannot Calibrate Camera on Gweike Cloud - inconsistent results

I bought the Gweike Cloud over other brands specifically to run Lightburn. But the lens calibration wizard gives different results every time. I covered the honeycomb with white foam board and pasted the circles print onto it. When I click “capture” (or whatever the word is) I might get “great”; then i click “next” and the button greys out. I assume it wants another capture. I click the button, and it gets a bad score and says “try again”. I have turned off external lights so I can’t think of what would cause this. It also displays distorted images.

I’ve been a software engineer for 35 years and have done work with graphics. I don’t understand how the results can vary unless you are giving it firmware commands that move the lens or something physical.

One thought I had was that the model I received is the newest hardware update which I think has only been out for a few weeks. Maybe that has something to do with it ?

There’s a lot of information here. I’m going to aim for completeness.

I’d just like to confirm that the camera is connected directly to the computer you’re using with a USB cable and not through the RuidaVision system offered with the Gweike Cloud engraver.

That’s happened to me too. I sometimes just keep pushing the capture button until it gets a decent score. A dozen attempts is not uncommon.

Is it easy or possible to move the pasted circles to the eight other grid positions for calibration? I’m not certain I’m following.

If you’re willing please share a screen capture. It almost sounds like something is missing.

I’m not certain how this is a benefit to image consistency. I’m genuinely curious.
Please share your thinking on this.

Ah… this is expected. Because of the confusion it causes, there has been discussion about removing the image display in its entirety.

Have you seen the early video on camera set up and the comments on the distorted images?