CO2 Laser Engraves but Doesn't Cut

I’m brand new to CO2 lasers but have been using a diode for a few years. I just bought a second-hand blue & white 50 watt CO2. I’m having a problem… I can engrave but can’t cut through materials, like 1/8” basswood.

I’ve aligned and cleaned the mirrors & lens.
I’ve set the focal distance (currently using a 2” lens)

Afterwards, I created a test in Lightburn (circle and a square). Set max power to 80% and speed to 5mm/s. Neither cut through. They engraved but when I flip the piece over, no marks at all. I’m using 1/8” basswood.

So here’s the funny thing, I ran the same test in RDWorks with the same settings and had in cut nearly through the board (cut piece was hung up on a few wood fibers).

Anyone have any ideas of where to start looking. I’ve been all over Google and watched literally dozens of YouTube videos but can’t seem to find a solution.

You need to find out if your CO2 tube is ok. Set speed in the controller to 100 ms and power to 20% and make a test shot on tap in front of M1.
Show it here, is it ok, the alignment of the mirrors and the lens must be tested. Have you done a ramp test to find the correct focus point?
A quick test is also to put tape on the nozzle and make a pulse shot, this can sometimes give an idea of whether the laser beam comes out of the nozzle correctly/centred.

Stands min. power setting too low?

Triple check mirror alignment to start off. Make sure to check all mirrors, 1, 2 & 3. Double check your focal distance by running a ramp test also.

Please post a screen shot of your LB cut settings as well

I’ve re-checked the mirror alignment all the way to the nozzle and performed a ramp test to verify I had the right focal distance.

Yes, mirror alignment seems spot-on. even the nozzle check (it’s not hitting the sides and is about dead-center).

I tested the min setting by creating 2" squares. Min power set at 11% seemed to have the best results - all corners showed up and no over-burn.