Cut through plywood is inconsistent

Hi there.

I’m quite new with Lasercutter, having a 100W (120W nominal) with Ruida. I’m experimenting with all kinds of material, but having a lot of problems with cutting birch plywood. Mostly it cuts very well but on many areas not cutting through. Sometimes I can cut the rest from the backside, but very often the plywood sheet is for the trash.
I have read that this might be due to areas with more glue in the wood, but even cutting with more power doesn’t do the job well. A bit better, but still not good.

Any hints how to fix this problem ?

We have all been to this unhappy place a time or two. Challenge is supply, reseller stacks may be different, from a different mill, manufactured at a different time under different conditions. The only way to minimize this issue is to work with a supplier known to provide consistently high-quality materials intended for production. The “General Store” suppliers get all kinds of “stuff” flowing through their wood piles, if you will. :wink:

I have found setting the focus “into the surface” a bit can help.

1 Like

Yes, I also work with the focus and this helps sometimes. I usually use half of the material thickness into the material, but I can’t find any settings that really works. And I’m just trying to cut 4mm plywood at the moment, the laser ought to be able to cut 12mm. It is quite frustrating.
I think you’re also right with supplier material, finding the right one is probably key. I don’t buy it from the general store but maybe I should try another one (after trashing the 40 sheets I just ordered :wink: ).
Thanks

What are you using for air assist? A real compressor that can put some high velocity air into the crack, or the goofy aquarium pump that typically comes with the machine?
I think the aquarium pump is about half a step from utterly useless for cutting wood. 30-40psi behind that nozzle makes a world of difference.

3 Likes