Cutting with plywood

Hey guys,

I’m new to laser machines and the lightburn software. I have a sculpfun s9.
I have been trying and trying to cut with 2mm plywood. I still have had no success. I have watched tutorials, YouTube videos etc and have set settings to 2-3 and 4 passes. With speeds of 150, 200. And power of 100% but it still does not cut through. Everyone else seems to have no problems with these settings.
I almost got through with 20 passes, 150 speed, 100 % power but going off everyone else’s videos I watch they can get through with 2-3 passes.
I have noticed when I do 2-3 passes it prints dotted lines not a bold line.

If anyone can help me out I would be greatly thankful and appreciate your time.

Kind regards
Melissa

Welcome to the forum… Check out this link

Did you follow Lightburn grbl setup?

It would be wise to read over the Coordinate and Job Origin documentation.

Go back through the grbl setup and see if you have more success.

The speeds can be mm/s, mm/min, inches/s, inches/min, so try and be specific so we can be more helpful in the future.

:smile_cat:

Mel as jack mentioned the specifics are important. Although i dont have scuplfuns’ machine i do have the S9 laser head and for the most part i have been able to cut through everything right up to 8, 10 and almost 12mm thick at speeds of 6 or 7 mm/s. The largest number of passes was for MDF. I had maybe 30 when i tried that. Sounds like the actual machine needs some tweaks. Are you using the aluminum spacer they sent to set the focus?

Another thought i had, if you have tried so many times with that many passes your lens might need to be cleaned. :smile:

thank you for your reply. I will give the lens a clean tonight.
i was using mm/m

1 Like

hey thank you for your reply. i will look into the GRBL setup again tonight.
i am close to throwing the machine in the bin haha!

Don’t work on it when frustrated or tired. You will break things…

Good luck

:smile_cat:

1 Like

Haha thank you