Desperate Help with Yeti Engraves

Hello everyone!

I’m about to give up over here but I thought I’d try this before throwing in the towel.

I have an ORTUR laser master 3 20W with the ORTUR chuck rotary.

I’ve tested 2 yetis worth of trial and errors to try and get the perfect stainless steel shine.

Best results I’ve got so far:
45mm/s
33% power
0.10mm line interval

I can’t stop getting burn lines in my designs as well as errors.

Is this a settings issue or chuck issue??

Any help is welcome. I’m done crying over this LOL

To me that seems way too slow… I as well have a 20w and my sweet spot is 3000/45%.

1 Like

Correction: 3000mm/m

Please post some pictures and the community can help diagnose the problems to better advise.

I’ve had good success with Yeti etching, aka ablating the powder coat. There are similar processes to etch onto naked stainless steel. I have a diode laser similar to yours, mine is Neje E80 Quad Diode (and before that A40640 Dual Diode).

In the former case, see this post for some process setup and info: Yeti tumbler etching - #6 by bLouChip
As @Preece211 implies, less laser power hitting the stainless = better results. The stainless will react to the laser light.

In the latter case, I use a spray on pre-laser coating by EnduraMark; what doesn’t fuse into the stainless gets washed off post laser process.

1 Like

Bottom “Lennon” has line through word and Jeff didn’t turn out well at all. Both using the LightBurn settings I said above

Thank you Lou! These settings worked amazing. Any tips for etching an image on a yeti? Thanks again, less tears over here!!

You’re welcome, glad to help.

I hope you saw that there was a follow up post I made 2 months later in the #6 post I reference above. I adjusted some of the original parameters and process.