Fake preview vs engraving

Good morning,

I am a PhD student and I have been starting my research for a few weeks now. After several days I have realized that the information shown in the preview does not correspond to what the laser engraves on the plate. The corresponding blacks between 60% and 100% are practically the same, the image definition is lost. And the whites from 0% to 30% disappear, the laser is not able to engrave it. It is as if when you press play the laser interprets the image.

Does anyone know why this happens? I would need it to engrave exactly what the preview commands.

I rarely play around with images so am totally unsure, but just wondering if the fact that ‘Constant power mode’ is selected would have a bearing on what you are experiencing.

Hello, Thank you for your reply.

I have tested by varying all kinds of parameters. In the last tests I selected the constant power mode because it avoided an annoying “moirĂ©â€ that I had in the previous tests. Now I get the engraving to look good but it does not record exactly the dots that are in the preview, but an interpretation. I lose a lot of tones in the final engraving.

I don’t know if there is some parameter in the CNC configuration that is not correctly set.

Hang in there, others who have great knowledge, will chime in

1 Like

Laser engraving photos with full range of contrast is practically alchemy. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen an example that didn’t clip on one end or the other.

1 Like

Yes, this is very often the case. Diode lasers often produce a dark dot or no dot. This is most often true with ‘White Tile’ work. Dithering modifies an image for production with high-contrast materials.

You have selected a Floyd-Steinberg for dithering which is a good approach and you are seeing this dithered image as it would be produced in the preview window.