Grayscale image issues

Hi,

I’m new to the laser engraving topic and have chosen the biggest challenge first: grayscale images :wink:

Unfortunately, I’m facing here a big issue as you can see in the pictures below. The test image burns with an okay quality (not good though), however, whenever I choose a different picture it looks not even near grayscale. Do you have any hint what I’m doing wrong here?

Issue example pictures:

Grayscale test pictures:

Setup:

• Neje 20W (~5.5W) laser module
  • Marlin 2.0.9.2 supporting inline commands (also set in lightburn)
  • 8-bit trigorilla (ramps) board
  • Wood: Balsa
  • Lightburn version 1.0.04

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

maybe you could post the original greyscale image?

from your tests it clearly shows the quality degrading as you lower the DPI and speed up the pass, with 300dpi and 2000mm/min best, then then you engrave the image at 150 dpi and 3000mm/m, less dpi and faster in fact a lower dpi than any of your tests, I wonder why did bother doing the tests?
That aside it doesn’t explain why you got such a patchy image scan, but without seeing the image you are scanning what are we to advise on?

Post the image and your settings in LB please

Hi, thanks for your response.

maybe you could post the original greyscale image?

Here you go (random image): MrT

from your tests it clearly shows the quality degrading as you lower the DPI and speed up the pass, with 300dpi and 2000mm/min best, then then you engrave the image at 150 dpi and 3000mm/m, less dpi and faster in fact a lower dpi than any of your tests, I wonder why did bother doing the tests?

You can ignore the fact I tested 200DPI with 4000mm/m. It was my first print of the tests where I forgot to adapt the DPI to correct 300 (started left bottom → left top → right bottom → right top).

That aside it doesn’t explain why you got such a patchy image scan, but without seeing the image you are scanning what are we to advise on?