I'm new to lasers. I still cannot get it to work like it was advertised. I need help

I am having several difficulties. I am about to run out of the LightBurn extension license. I am NOT a professional printing or lasering house, I am a grumpy old home hobbiest doing nothing commercial. I just wanted to find a hobby for the time I have left. Unfortunately, I am not wealthy enough to buy a non-Chinese machine. Perhaps you cannot teach an old dog new tricks because on my budget I’ve bought several Chinese (or Chinese-containing) items. That being said, I have a major lasering problem:

I bought this 60w CO2 laser off of Amazon. The seller has been VERY slow (after they stated they had 24/7 support with ‘no worries’)(yeah, right!)(but remember, I must be a stupid and grumpy old man). It was supposed to have a 16" x 24" cutting area (it seems to really be about 14.5" x 23.5". The Ruida 6442 controller has some very weird behaviors. Mainly the buttons don’t do what I see on many of the dozens of videos and hundreds of postings that I have seen or read. I can push EITHER the left arrow or the down arrow and the laser head moves BOTH to the left and down SIMULTANEOUSLY (i.e. southwest). The [Esc] key does what a ‘framing’ should do. The [Origin] key starts it lasering; etc.

I have tried cycling power. Pressing the [Reset] makes it home. The [Z/U] opens the menu but then the arrow keys are berserk. Am I just too stupid to do this or follow the directions or is there something really wrong here. I’m about to just give up on the whole mess. It is VERY frustrating and I don’t need that!

Nevertheless, thanks for any help from you guys.

You have one reference to the positive side of things. Your machine homes. My 500 x 700 had a failed inductive travel stop during the first week! I have spares now.