Importing from NAS on Linux (Mint)

I just got LightBurn and I can’t figure out how to import files from my NAS. I’m running Linux Mint, and I can see the drives in the file explorer. In file explorer, I get an option to view network drives and I can browse by folders without issue (after I log in). I don’t have that option in the import dialog in LightBurn. I can’t even drag the files from my NAS folder into LightBurn for some reason. I can’t find any mention of this problem here or on google, so I’m guessing I just need configure something. I probably need to spend some quality time with the terminal. I have very little Linux experience, so please be nice. :wink:

Thanks for your help.

zack

Zack, welcome to the forum.

I don’t really know how Lightburn handles it’s files. Some software just doesn’t implement any kind of remote drives.

I’m hoping @LightBurn will pop in and advise us all. I have some of my files done with symbolic links but I think that’s different that a NAS type of connection.

:smiley_cat:

Thanks for the reply. What is a symbolic link? Does that work on Linux? could I make a symbolic link to a folder on my NAS?

I would like to be able to design my projects on my main PC in the house, throw the files into the laser file on my NAS, then open the files on the PC running the laser. I suppose I could create a shared folder on the laser PC, but I don’t know how to do that on Linux and I would like to be able to work inside while the laser PC is off.

What network sharing protocol is the NAS configured to use? I assume SMB but please confirm.

I don’t believe LightBurn has any in-built network share code so relies on OS functionality for that.

1. You could either map the share in Linux so that it appears as a regular folder. This will almost certainly work
  2. I’m guessing you can dynamically reference a smb share from LightBurn but I haven’t tried this.