Is this whining noise a setting, or a hardware fault?

I’m new to Ruida controllers and LB software.
The problem I’m having sounds a somewhat similar to: GWEIKE LC1390N Z-axis grinding noise

To be clear, this AccTek laser has 2 control panels; main 1 is for XY control the 2nd is for the Z-axis which has an automatic height-following head.

When I start any laser job, the head normally moves down to just above the metal surface (we could call this a ‘punch’ movement?) and self-adjusts to keep that height right for the whole job. Holding the height works fine but there seems to be a problem with the initial ‘punch’ motion. View video clip here:
https://www.canva.com/design/DAGDF3hd1As/19WFuJ2ZuUvEhZeO61Evww/watch?utm_content=DAGDF3hd1As&utm_campaign=designshare&utm_medium=link&utm_source=editor
You can see it is possible to push on the whining head to help it downwards and then it will carry on just fine.

That sounds like you’re loading the focus motor. Did it just start this noise?

:smile_cat:

I guess the focus motor is a better name for it. It started about a month ago but we haven’t been able to get a lot of help from the supplier…language barrier, etc…
My most recent research suggests the settings for this up-down function are not accessible from within the software, but this may be incorrect

Russ Sadler did a video on problems with interpreting what the Ruida wants for auto focus…

I have never had an autofocus on my machine, so I can’t really make much of a suggestion. It sounds like it’s working OK, but I don’t know.

Here are a couple of videos that I watched a few years back and a newer one I haven’t. Might be worth a watch…

Good luck

That suggests the focus switch is not tripping when the laser head reaches the bottom of its travel, where additional hand pressure moves it another itsy.

Given how fancy the machine appears and that it’s intended for metalwork, the head is probably an inductive sensor rather than a mechanical clicky switch.