Lightburn Says connected, but will not move laser head or run projects

Hi all, I’m pretty new to the laser world and have had an on-and-off issue with Lightburn when used with my Cohesion3D Laser Board (Smoothieware) installed in an OMTech k40. I run on 2018 Mac (Latest OS) right now but have had issues on earlier versions as well. My laser powers on fine, and I can manually pulse the laser on my K40. I checked the smootieboard troubleshooting, and tested the board with everything unplugged and the LED’s indicate normal operation - no errors. I also have replaced the factory Blue USP cable with an Amazon Basics cable. I have correctly setup my smoothie board with Lightburn and have had a number of successful cuts with no issue.

HOWEVER. Periodically, when I turn on my laser and connect to my Mac, LB will say it is connected fine, but when I try to jog, home, or run the project, nothing happens. When this has happened in the past I just shut everything down and try another day, and it feels 50/50 whether it works or not. When it works, it works great! I feel like I must be missing something silly, but this has been a VERY frustrating experience, and none off my google/forum searches have yielded a solution.

One thing to try. When you have this issue, check the serial port that’s being used in Laser window.

Manually select the actual proper port for your laser.

If you turn on your laser prior to opening LightBurn it should connect to the same port as previously but that’s not necessarily always the case either for various reasons.

1 Like

I have to remember my port. I get 3 port options. If I choose the wrong one it will say it’s ready but will not move.

1 Like

This definitely seems like it would be the solution! How do I found out the actual port? and how do I select it? This is where we are getting way over my head :wink:

Screenshots of my USB Device tree and of my options on Lightburn: