Materials/Library settings

I am new to LB and wanted to start saving settings so I dont have to rediscover good material setting once I have them.
In finding a good engraving setting to mark work on manila paper I realized my old method of setting the power on the K40 and using 100% in the software was silly because it mean wear and tear on the K40 switches.
So I set up a test and thats when I noticed using 12% on the K40 gave me uniform lines BUT 100% K40 with 12% in LB causes the corners of projects to be dark and show artifacts that do not show in the cut at high power or low power etches.
Whats going on?

100% on the K40 power supply is not where it should be - You should adjust the K40 power so that a test fire gives you the desired tube output current (12ma to 15ma) and leave it there.

Likely the reason you are seeing burnt corners is that at 12% in LightBurn, you have a much narrower range of available power output values. The Smoothie board uses 10 bit PWM (I believe) meaning it has 1000 possible output power values. If you set the layer to 12%, you only have 120 possible power values to use now when varying the power to slow down for corners, and this might not be enough.

Are you doing vector marking, or engraving (fills)? If you are using the Fill setting in LightBurn, be sure to turn on Overscan as well - this will let the controller overshoot the edges of the fill before stopping completely, reducing the edge burn.

1 Like

First off with a digital power adjustments there is no way to know the actually number of milliamperes involved AFAIK.
Second, you say set it and leave it and then not to use a low power LB settings, how does one then do light engraving?
Also 12% on the K40 power setting panel is my lowest to get the laser to fire. So having LB be limited to 120 values seems worthless as the laser wont fire if it reduces power.