Minimum requirements for dedicated computer

Newbie here. I’ve been running my Ortur Laser Master 2 with my Lenovo G50 laptop (which I’ve upgraded several times). It works great, but I am tired of constantly moving the laptop back and forth between the laser setup and my workstation. And since sometimes laser projects take hours to complete, it ties up my computer for a long time. So I am thinking about getting a second computer dedicated just to running the laser. I don’t want to spend a lot of money on it, since it is just a convenience to avoid tying up my laptop. I am looking for thoughts on minimum requirements for a dedicated computer, in what ways I can get away being cheap and what ways I just need to spend the money. Any suggestions? Thoughts?

I bought a windows 10 pro mini PC on Amazon for around $100 and reused a monitor and wireless USB keyboard/mouse from a dead desktop PC. I later replaced the computer monitor (VGA) with a $15 thrift store HDMI TV. I run two 3D printers, a 3018 Pro CNC/laser and my brand new Ortur LM2 Pro on it (although not at the same time) and haven’t had any issues with it. If I had a chance at a redo I would buy one with more USB ports. It’s about 6" square and an inch or so thick and I stuck it on the wall behind the TV (which is also mounted to the wall). It works for me!

I have an old Dell computer that none of the grandchildren will play with because it is soooo old.
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7500@2.93 GHzx2 with 4 Gb RAM on Linux Mint - Runs only LightBurn / K40 but it runs flawlessly. (except LB camera, but it’s a Linux problem, unfortunately)

I agree with @bionicback321 the Mini PCs make good CNC controllers. The only thing you need to make sure of is that your monitor is greater than 768 vertical resolution. LB will work with this or lower resolutions but it’s a pain…

If you really want an adventure you could look into Octoprint on a RPi with the grbl plugin… :wink: