Newbie question about squaring

Hi everyone!

I’m new to the world of laser engraving and I’m trying to understand what I’m doing wrong with some of my engravings

To contextualize: I’m trying to cut contact paper to make a '“protective skin” for my laptop.

After creating a rectangle and cutting the paper, the width and height measurements match exactly what is stated in lightburn, which makes me think that there are no parameterization problems (I’m not sure), but when I try to frame it on my laptop, it’s clear that there is a very small offset of less than 1 cm that doesn’t leave the alignment satisfactory, I’ve tried to export the file and engrave it on the official NEJE software too, but the results are the same, I running out of ideias of where I could be wrong, any tips on this?

PS: I am using a NEJE Master 2 Plus

Images from the contact paper and from the offset.

Thanks!

These are the machine parameters that i’m using:

I don’t understand the problem. If the part is cutting as designed. And the part is proving too short for purpose, then can’t you simply design the part bigger?

I feel like there’s a complication that you’re trying to convey that’s not coming across.

Hey berainlb, thanks for the reply!

I’ll try to draw to see if I can make myself clearer, maybe I’m not able to express myself correctly because I haven’t even understood the problem yet, since the measurements seem ok to me

It’s strange, at first I thought that the problem was happening because I wasn’t able to position both objects (laptop and the contact paper) in a way that they were fully aligned, but after several attempts, it seems to me that the problem is this small difference in size, it’s almost as if the rectangle just twisted a little bit, turning into a parallelogram :thinking:

I also noticed that this problem is only happening with large cuts, when I try to cut smaller rectangles it doesn’t happen