Newbie, Shape Creations

I’ve only been using LB for about a week so very much a newbie. I do like the software but have concerns/questions. It “appears” that if a create a perfect circle using the shift key, it works. However, it I wish to expand that circle, using the percentile settings, it does not maintain the perfect circle any more. Similar happens to various shapes.
Another thing I see a lacking in is some basic shapes such as a triangle, do not exist. Creating two lines from the center point, based explicitly on an “angle” is not there. So for example, I wish to make a perfect circle then subdivide it by 32 sections, each subdivision would be 11.25 degrees. Not an issue for the math but there’s no way to accomplish that in this level of software.
Yes, I understand that its not a full blown AutoCad type program and yes, I know the software is a work in progress.
So lastly, please pardon my ignorance as I’m still learning the software as I go. Thanks for understanding

Hey amigo, welcome to the fun of Lightburn :slight_smile: There are some things that are not immeidately evident, but you will soon learn all the cool tricks. Spend some time reading the questions and answers on this forum - but dont hold back if you need help.

In this screen capture, you see a black rectangle, the drag handles (corner, center, pivot and strech) and you see the measurements of 3.5854 by 2.5216. Next to those numbers you see an open pad lock - you just need to click to lock the size ratio. You can manually enter the exact size you want to make the object.

As far as trigangles go - make a hexagon shape first, then right click on it to open shape properties

Then you can adjust the number of sides on your object.

The circle subdivided there are a couple of ways to to that. Circular array is a great tool.

Good luck!

3 Likes

Welcome! :slight_smile:

Check to ensure the Aspect Ratio Lock is on to keep the ellipse a circle.