No correct dimensions of a square when engraving

Hello people:),

I am new to laser engraving and several days ago i bought a laser engraver, the scupfun s9. I installed lightburn(trail version) on my windows 10 laptop and then i tried to cut a 10x10mm little box for testing. But i can not make each sqaure 10x10 mm.

With lightburn a made 6 boxes of 10 mm. Snapt every box to the grid. When i engrave the box on 270GSM paper the dimesions are slightly off. As you can see in de picture the first sqaure is bigger, roughly 10,05mm, the second, thirth and fouth square are excactly 10 mm on the x-axis. The top and buttom square are 10,05 mm and as you can see they don’t line up perfectly with the other squares to make a little box.

I have tried to calibrate the x-axis and y-axis but that did not work.

Also as you can see mostly close too the end off corners the line is not smooth, first i thought it was the table so i put it on the ground but that didn’t make any difference.
not_smooth

I hope someone can help me with this problem.

Danny

Is the picture the result of burning all the boxes in a single pass? Or you burned each box, one at a time?

I suggest you check your belt tension. I suspect you’re overtensioned on one or both axes.

Also, please share .lbrn2 file. Your image looks fine but there might be something going on in the design that’s not obvious.

Hello @berainlb thanks for your quick respons,

The picture was burned in one single pass.
I will have a look at the belts tension.

I added the .lbrn2 file.
Littlebox.lbrn2 (5.6 KB)

Your file looks fine. The issues you’re seeing are most certainly hardware related. If not the belt tension then possibly stepper configuration.

One other possibility that occurred to me. Is it possible that the frame of your laser is out of square?

I tried to loosening the belt tension on the X en Y-axis but still i get the same results.

What do you mean by stepper configuration? Can i change them if so where can i do that?