Noisy PWM signal when laser is in motion (Ortur LM2)

Hi,

I have little experience with engraving and have recently started playing with an Ortur Laser Master 2. I’m running into trouble with my laser power. Using the “Fire” command in the “Move” window, I am able to adjust the lasing power to my desired percentage via the “Power” control. This correctly sets the duty cycle of the PWM signal to the percent I have specified with a clean PWM signal (see attached image for clean PWM signal trace). However, when I want to run a path for the laser, the PWM signal is plagued with high noise and the underlying PWM signal gets lost in the noise and the laser begins lasing at varying power, but mostly just high power due to the relative amplitude of the noise (it lases at higher than the power I’ve set for each cut in the cuts/layers window, most likely because the signal is so noisy that the laser perceives a much higher duty cycle). This noise seems to be introduced to the PWM signal when the controller is sending motion signals to the motors. I’ve attached images of traces for the noisy PWM signal when the laser is in motion, the noise itself without a underlying PWM cycle that occurs when the laser is homing, and a clean PWM signal when using the “Fire” mode in the “Move” window. I have also attached images of my machine settings.

I’m not sure why the motion signals would have an effect on the PWM signal, maybe cross-talk due to weak insulation?

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you in advance!

This is fantastic. I wish more users had oscilloscopes!

This is one for @OrturTech as it’s solidly outside what LightBurn offers.

Are you measuring the PWM signal at the laser head or the board?
Where did you connect the ground clip for the Oscilloscope probe?