Noob needing help please

Hi all complete noob here, so if I am asking stupid questions please forgive me.
Could someone tell me how to get Lightburn to talk to my Tronxy XY3 SE 3D printer and engraver please? I have tried connecting automatically and manually, but nothing seems to work they just won’t communicate to each other. Can someone give me a step by step idiots guide to connecting them please?

Many thanks, Martin.

Check a few things:

1. Make sure your device is being detected by Windows in Device Manager and is providing a port. Make note of the port. If no such device is detected you probably need to install a driver. This is normally not necessary with Windows 10+
  2. Marlin devices are typically a little finnicky with connection settings. Go to Edit->Device Settings and experiment with these settings:
    2a. Enable DTR Signal
    2b. Baud rate
    2c. Transfer Mode → Synchronous
1 Like

Nope, still nothing. Just the error message “There was a problem sending data to the laser. The machine may be busy or paused.” The The machine is neither busy or paused, it simply isn’t responding to Lightburn at all. Is Lightburn actually compatible with my Tronxy device?

What specifically did you try?

LightBurn isn’t really compatible with specific devices. It’s designed to work against certain controller types. Based on your profile I assume the Tronxy is Marlin based and is supported in principle. However, due to the wide variation in Marlin or Marlin-derived firmware it seems to pose some of the most challenges with getting a connection.

After much random fiddling, it seems I am making some progress. I can get the laser to track and trace the pattern, but there is no burning. It looks as though the laser power is too low, is there any way I can increase it?

What made the difference on the connection issue?